Chit Chat, Lifestyle, Relationship

Being Honest About Dating Dealbreakers

I’m no guru when it comes to relationships and dating but I do know its okay to have a certain preference and to make choices that suit you in other words choices you can live with and take responsibility of in future( Something I’m still learning to get hold of).

If you knew me well, you’d understand how hard I try not to judge people on my first interaction with them ’cause I put myself in their shoes and think maybe they’re acting the way they are or saying the things they’re ranting about because they’re nervous or uncomfortable ’cause that’s what I tend to do when I’m nervous or overwhelmed.

I try to be reasonable but boy-oh- boy! Somethings just don’t cut into my “Maybe I can give them a second chance list.”

I’ll talk about the immediate and obvious deal breakers that you just can’t feign an excuse at all. Don’t get me wrong; I know no one is perfect ! I mean, just being ME I’m sure it’s already a deal breaker for loads of people and that’s okay.

So basically I’ll just be honest and list MY deal breakers.Of course these deal breakers aren’t for everyone.Some people could care less about what’s on the list:-

Over The Top Partying Lifestyle

I’m not sure their’s a way we can compromise on this, well unless its your job and you get paid millions to go out to clubs and smoke tones of weed while drinking till you pass out. It’s easy to have the attitude “They’ll grow out of it” But then I just can’t go into a relationship thinking, “Maybe its just a phase”

Honestly this is not something I’m OK living with!

Past Relationships

It’s easy to get into a relationship with someone and decide their past doesn’t matter; that’s true to some extent! But if your partner has a tendency of cheating, jumping from relationship to relationship that’s a deal breaker for me . I can’t get a relationship with someone who past relationship pattern shows you’re a serial cheater or commitment phobic ’cause one way or another the possibility of me winding up the same way is high.

Religious Views

Honestly, if we both feel strongly about our religious views (In this case our views collide) at some point it will screw us and cause a lot of stress. So I don’t see the point of tiptoeing around this…

Somethings can be discussed earlier on but keep in mind you can never CHANGE a person’s mind or behaviour.

Over To You …

What are some of your deal breakers?

xoxo, Jade

3 thoughts on “Being Honest About Dating Dealbreakers”

  1. I think all of your points are really valid. I remember when I was online dating and there was this really beautiful girl I was talking to. And she was Muslim. And I have nothing against Muslim people but we were talking and for some reason we got to talking about marriage. And she said to me, would you be willing to convert? It becomes difficult. I mean, I cannot just change my beliefs for the benefit of dating. If I don’t believe in something, then our worlds will collide at some point.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. First, I’m grateful for acknowledging my post . Second, I totally agree and get you! When we put forward our opinions and preferences people think we are being choosy and judgemental but little points like converting to another religion if not discussed during “knowing each other” / dating period tend to somehow be a hindrance in marriage. People shouldn’t oversee such things! How will you bring up your kids if one is strongly Jewish and the other is a scientologist !?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Exactly. And in my case, it was nothing against her. She was a lovely girl. But if you are expected to conform to a certain way, then it’s not possible. Plus some things can’t be consolidated. No matter how much you like someone. It’s not great but nevertheless, you have to be realistic.

        Like

Leave a Reply

