#FodreamyInterviews: 005- Beverly Dee

In between having a full-time job, creating content for her YouTube channel, slaying in Zumba classes; this amazing lady based in Mumbai takes fangirling to another level.

Meet Beverly, a soulful lady who unapologetically supports all the people that inspire her – especially Lilly Singh. She is the queen of #TeamSuper and actively uses her voice on social media to promote #GirlLove and spread positivity. 

Here’s what she had to say :-

Tell us something most people don’t know about you  (But you’d want people to know)

I took dance classes when I was 9 or 10, stopped all of a sudden and now I’m kind of getting back into it. 

How would you describe your life before YouTube and being an active fan girl?

It was a good, happy life but a goal-less one haha! I was really insecure and not that confident. I’m still learning but I’m getting better. 

Being an active fangirl has always been fun! Before being a fan of Lilly’s, I was obsessed with the Jonas Brothers (and I still love them even though they’re not a band anymore). Fangirling seems crazy to most people but to be honest, it keeps me happy. 

Being an active social media addict; Does your personality IRL match with the one on social media

Yes, I’d like to think so! I dislike people who are fake and so I’d never want to be that way myself. 

In fact there are times I use internet slang IRL : P So yep, it’s pretty identical. 

You are known to spread positivity and encourage people to be themselves. Is there a story behind this?

I’ve always been a positive person and always loved to encourage others to stay positive. Lilly inspired me to use YouTube as a platform to do that on a bigger scale. 

Learning to be myself has been quite a journey, I’ve learnt a lot and I’d like to share that with the world, day-by-day. 

You sing too, Is it something you’ve always had a passion for or you just picked up on the way? Would you want to advance to a music career?

Music has always been a part of my life, my family loves music too. My interest in singing developed at a very young age. I even took classes for a bit. It was only natural to include that in my videos  

And no, right now I’m not looking at a career in music. While I have a keen interest in music, I don’t have the drive to pursue it as a career. 


What motivated you to start your own YouTube channel?

Lilly Singh! I watched her perform live for the first time about 3 years ago and it inspired me so much. Her motivational videos about having a goal in life really opened my eyes. 

I already had a music cover channel that I started in 2009 (and left half way) so it seemed natural to make a comeback on the platform. 

Where do you get inspiration for your videos?

Daily life, pop culture, everything around me really. They’re the most random things but I try to make it as relatable for others as possible. 

You are known to be one of Lilly Singh’s huge supporters, Why Lilly?

Her energy. She’s EXTREMELY positive and that’s what attracted me to her first. She’s also really hard working and her work ethic is something I will forever be inspired by. Besides a phenomenal content creator, she’s also an extremely humble human being. She truly lives by the quote “Work hard. Stay humble”. She’s only 3 years older than me, but she’s a role model for sure. 

Do you have a routine when it comes to preparation for a video idea to filming, editing and finally uploading. If yes, care to enlighten us?

It’s pretty simple actually. I have a full time job and the hours are demanding so I only get time on weekends to create content. I write my script/practice my cover, then record it and usually edit it on the same day. 

Sometimes, I split the process between two days. Some videos take a while to edit so it spills over into the week which means late nights! But it’s worth the hustle for sure. 

What do you hope to be the greatest impact this year as a Youtuber? 

One of the most heartwarming comments I receive is “Your video made me feel better” or This was the best thing to hear after a long day”

It’s really humbling and also encourages me to keep spreading positivity in any way that I can. I want that to be the biggest impact I have on people, not just this year, but for life. I want to tell people that it’s completely okay to be yourself, accept your weirdness, be awesome in your own way and do whatever it takes for you to be happy. 

How do you balance having a job and creating content on YouTube? 

It’s definitely a task! I only get a few hours in the weekend to create content. But like I said, it’s worth the hustle. 

Any advice for young people who want to start out on YouTube 

Don’t think too much, be yourself and do what YOU like, truly! Not just young people, I think anyone with a purpose can create a YouTube channel. Just make sure you do it for the right reasons, don’t ever compromise on your happiness and just keep going. 

PS: This Interview was conducted via mail. 

Thank you Beverly for taking time to participate in this interview. If you want to be a constant stalker in her life. Follow/ Subscribe :-

Twitter |YouTube |Tumblr|

Leave a Reply

